Terrible
Poster Thread
  •  Debbijmac
      Debbijmac
Introducing Myself

From Glasgow, Scotland, Cincinnati Ohio
Group:
Registered Users
Hi to all of you on here. I wanted to get into a forum that discusses this amazing subject. I just read the book "Titanic Voices" published by the Southhampton City council and I was entralled and entranced by it. The book details the first hand accounts of the survivors of the tragedy of this disaster so long ago. Anyone else read this book? I have so many questions, I hope some of you will be able to answer them as I post them. Thanks for all your help to me in advance.

BY the way, are most of you on here only students of school age? I'm 42 years old, but I am a life -long student of oral history, but mostly of the second world war.
Posted on: 2003/10/6 3:29
Create PDF from Post Print
  •  Anonymous
      Anonymous
Guest_Anonymous
welcome to the forum Debbijmac,

i have "Titanic Voices" its a great book isn't it. i'll try my best to answer any questions you have, and i'm sure the other members will too. :D
Posted on: 2003/10/6 11:41
  •  Debbijmac
      Debbijmac

Group:
Registered Users
[quote:69b8f55113="bess"]welcome to the forum Debbijmac,

i have "Titanic Voices" its a great book isn't it. i'll try my best to answer any questions you have, and i'm sure the other members will too. :D[/quote:69b8f55113]

Thanks so much, Bess, and thanks for the welcome. Some of the main questions that stuck in my mind, is was the Californian pennalized in any way for not coming to the aid of the Titanic, as it was closer, and obviously more people would have been saved if they just had their radios operational?

How could it be that they were allowed to sail as a passanger ship with their radios not working in the first place? Why didn't their captain and crew observe the Titanic's very obvious distress signals and make for the ship?