Terrible
Poster Thread
  •  Forcean
      Forcean
Dead Recovered

From Idaho, USA
Group:
Registered Users
I'm really new at this but I'm going to give this a shot.
The Mackay-Bennett recovered 121 dead. 1517 went into the sea, granted some went literally "down with the ship"....but why were so few recovered. Even if every one in the life boats had a life vest on, plus the 121 recovered.....there had to be more bodies needing to be recovered than 121....what happened to them? Was there other ships who picked up the dead? Have any lifevests ever been found by ship or on shore?
If anyone has any info...please let me know ..TY Forcean
Posted on: 2004/4/1 2:29
Create PDF from Post Print
  •  Betty
      Betty

From Albany, New York
Group:
Registered Users
Forcean,
Welcome to the group.
Now as far as I know there were lifevests for all passengers. As you stated there were 705 survivors, 1,523 perished in the sinking.
The Mackay-Bennett found 306 bodies of which 116 were buried at sea. The Minia recovered only 17 bodies, The Montmagny picked up 4 bodies and lastly the Algerine picked up James McGrady the last body to be recovered.
Those bodies that were too damaged in the tragedy were buried at sea.
Posted on: 2004/4/1 3:02

From Tallmadge, Ohio
Group:
Registered Users
[quote:561fb2a2e8="Betty"]Forcean,
Welcome to the group.
Now as far as I know there were lifevests for all passengers. As you stated there were 705 survivors, 1,523 perished in the sinking.
The Mackay-Bennett found 306 bodies of which 116 were buried at sea. The Minia recovered only 17 bodies, The Montmagny picked up 4 bodies and lastly the Algerine picked up James McGrady the last body to be recovered.
Those bodies that were too damaged in the tragedy were buried at sea.[/quote:561fb2a2e8]

Now, what exactly does "too damaged" mean???
Posted on: 2004/4/2 6:21
  •  Forcean
      Forcean
Dead Recovered

From Idaho, USA
Group:
Registered Users
A special Thank You to Betty